Mayor & City Council

Sartell City Hall at NightCouncil, Mayor and Management

Sartell City Council Members are elected at-large to represent the entire community and are empowered by law to legislate citywide policy. This includes the authority to pass and enforce ordinances, establish public and administrative policies, create advisory boards and commissions, and manage the City's financial operations including preparing a budget, auditing expenditures, and transacting other City business as required by law.


The Sartell City Council consists of one mayor and four Council members. The Mayor is elected for a four-year term and the members are elected for four-year terms. All members of the City Council are elected from the City at large. Local elections are held in November of even-numbered years.

City Council meetings are typically held on the second and fourth Monday of the month at 6:00 pm. Meetings are held in the Council Chambers and are open to the public.  Council meeting minutes and agendas are available at City Hall and are archived on this site.  The council meetings are also aired live on local cable channel 181 as well as rebroadcast the following Tuesday at 9:00 a.m.

The City Administrator, who is appointed by the City Council, serves as the chief administrative officer for the city. The administrator oversees the day-to-day operations of the city, and implements the policies of the City Council.

 Your City Representation

Mayor Sarah Jane Nicoll Phone: 320.309.7765
 Through 2018Email:

Councilmember Ryan.Fitzthum Phone: 320.493.5891
 Through 2020Email:

Council Member Mike Chisum Phone: 320.492.2675
 Through 2020 Email:

Council Member Pat LynchPhone: 320.240.0770
 Through 2018Email:

Council Member David PetersonPhone: 320.492.8017
 Through 2018Email:



Sarah Jane Nicoll

Pat Lynch
 Council Member


Ryan Fitzthum
 Council Member


David Peterson
Council Member


Mike Chisum
Council Member